Watch Video: Michael Neser’s Controversial Catch Sparks Debate Over Laws Of Cricket

Click Here To Join Our WhatsApp Group!

Download KSU Application - Click Here

Watch Video: Michael Neser’s Controversial Catch Sparks Debate Over Laws Of Cricket

Brisbane Heat registered a 15-run victory over Sydney Sixers in their Big Bash League match on Sunday.

Opted to bat first, Brisbane posted a total of 224/5 in 20 overs with Nathan McSweeney smashing 84 runs. In return, Sydney were bowled out at 209 as Michael Neser got a three-wicket haul. Apart from him, Mark Steketee, Matthew Kuhnemann, and Ross Whiteley scalped two wickets each.

Out, six or need of a rule change? Michael Neser’s controversial catch in BBL match sparks massive debate

Australian pacer Michael Neser took the cricket world by storm on the first day of the new year 2023 grabbing one of the most brilliantly thought-out yet controversial catches in his side Brisbane Heat’s match against the Sydney Sixers in the Big Bash League (BBL) 12.

The law-making body, MCC even tweeted, “The FIRST contact must be inside the boundary, and the fielder can’t be touching the ball and the ground beyond the boundary at the same time.”

Sixers batter Jordan Silk, who had kept his side in the game with a quick knock of 41 off 22 in a chase of 225 runs, played an inside-out shot to Mark Steketee and it looked like going over the ropes before Neser grabbed the ball but quickly realised that his body wasn’t balanced and threw it up in the air.

However, he threw the ball outside the rope and not inside which meant he had to grab the ball while being in the air, which he did and threw the ball back into the play and then caught it for the third and the final time to see the back of Silk.

Neser wasn’t sure if it was out or not and the third umpire checked it on multiple replays first to ensure that Neser wasn’t in contact with the ball and the ground at the same time and then the legitimacy of the catch as he took it once being outside the rope. Eventually, the decision went in the fielding side’s favour and it caused a huge stir.

WATCH VIDEO BELOW

“It is important to note that as long as the fielder’s first touch of the ball is inside the boundary line, they are allowed to finish the catch however they like, provided their feet are not grounded with the ball over the boundary.

“Neser’s initial contact with the ball, the timing of his jump and the eventual catch were all within the laws of the game, the batter was correctly declared out”, the ICC further added.

Click Here To Join Our WhatsApp Group!

Download KSU Application - Click Here

For Breaking News and Live News Updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Subscribe us on Telegram and never miss a update!

error: Content is protected !!